Your iCloud ID Has Been Deactivated
How the scam works:
If you are an Apple user you might receive a phishing message on your iPhone meant to trick you into handing over your password and other pieces of personal information. This mobile message is urging you to immediately verify your iCloud ID before it gets deactivated.
You are then directed to a legitimate-looking website – icloudverify.co.uk, where you are asked to input your username and password. However, this is an unofficial Apple website so ignore it.
Victims are told their account has been locked for "security reasons," and are directed to enter other personal information like address and credit card details, in order to "unlock" the account.
However, the problem is that the scammers appear nowadays as real as possible by using the recipient's real name in the text message, Also, they're making their name appear on the call display as 'iCloud.com (as in the picture below)', using something named 'Caller ID spoofing'. This means that through a software they can change the name showing on your screen as whatever they want.
How to avoid the iCloud ID Has Been Deactivated scam:
Random text messages on your phone are rarely real when it comes to Apple and iCloud. Delete the text and go ahead with your day. It's that simple. Be aware that scammers might use the same trick for your Apple ID or any other account, for that matter.
How to report the iCloud ID Has Been Deactivated scam:
Make your family and friends aware of this scam by sharing it on social media using the buttons provided. You can also officially report the scammers to the Federal Trade Commission using the link below:
How to protect yourself more:
If you want to be the first to find out the most notorious scams every week, feel free to subscribe to the Scam Detector newsletter here. You'll receive periodical emails and we promise not to spam. Last but not least, use the Comments section below to expose other scammers.
Related Articles and Pages: